Quick Links - Also see the menu above and more choices on the right side of the blog (too much, but all good stuff)

\/ ...and now BIMbuilder.com Blog Posts... \/

Friday, December 18, 2009

Project Location Dialog & Disable Shared Positioning - The Revit Clinic

>http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2009/12/project-location-dialog-disable-shared-positioning.html

I have 2 scenarios that I want to outline for anyone who may experience shared positioning dialogs which appear to get stuck in a loop.

Scenario #1

You highlight a linked file you have acquired coordinates from in Revit. You then open Element Properties > Shared Location. Without making any changes here you click OK but are prompted that “You have changed the position of a location in…” when attempting to save.

When you click OK in the Choose Location dialog, Revit is temporarily modifying the linked file. This is being detected as a change when attempting to save even though no changes were made.

Instead, simply click Cancel to avoid this prompt each time:

ChooseLocation

Scenario #2

When saving a project you are prompted with the “You have changed the position of a location in…” dialog. You choose Disable shared positioning to set the link back to , and assume this should dismiss the dialog for subsequent saves.

When saving the project you will be prompted with this dialog at each save if you continue to select Disable shared positioning.

Instead, after choosing Disable shared positioning you should close the project and reopen it to permanently dismiss the dialog.

LocationPositionChanged

Source:

Project Location Dialog & Disable Shared Positioning - The Revit Clinic


0 comments:

  © Blogger template ProBlogger Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP  

[Valid Atom 1.0]