Quick Links - Also see the menu above and more choices on the right side of the blog (too much, but all good stuff)

\/ ...and now BIMbuilder.com Blog Posts... \/

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Synchronize With Central Troubleshooting - The Revit Clinic

Repost: http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2010/03/synchronize-with-central-troubleshooting.html

I’ve gathered some information related to Synchronize with Central troubleshooting. Should you find yourself with an issue related to this topic I hope the following documentation is helpful:

1. First, ensure the steps have been taken in the File not saved technical solution listed below. Most of these items apply to any synchronize with central conflict:

File not saved during synchronize with central troubleshooting

2. If the steps above do not resolve the issue, take a look through the Worksharing Log file. This file is located in the backup folder of the central file, and named after the central file with a .slog extension. Open a copy of the file in Notepad and search for error. Look for any errors related to STC or RL and note the time they occurred. Cross reference this file with the user’s journal file to see if the errors occurred at the same time.

One item to note in the Worksharing Log is that the username will be assigned a different ID for each interaction they make with the central file. Look for the user= for the username, and then the ID assigned to that username. It will appear first for every interaction with the central file similar to below:

SLOG

3. When a project has remote users connecting over a VPN or WAN connection, it is especially important to stagger the SWC times to minimize the period when the model is inaccessible during a save. Verify if the issue persists when no 2 users are synchronizing with central at or around the same period.

While this is always important to manage on a project team, having remote users can add to the delay when they synchronize with central, as their data connections are typically slower.

4. Verify the server type the central file is being stored on along with the workstation operating system. Revit is tested on Windows-based operating systems [along with BootCamp and Parallels for a Mac] similar to those listed here. Network Attached Storage [NAS] configurations and Storage Area Network [SAN] configurations are not tested at this time.

5. Lastly, if your project file has linked files you can test synchronizing with central with the links unloaded to see if the issue may be related. If it works without the linked files it could potentially be one of the linked files causing a conflict.

If replacing worksharing-enabled files regularly, for example from a consultant, every time a new linked file is received it would need to be opened and resaved as a central file. When worksharing enabled files are moved to a new server or location, Revit considers them a local copy until they are re-saved. This happens because Revit saves the location, where each worksharing enabled file resides.

Each file would have to be re-saved over itself as a new central file. As an example you would open each link, and re-save it in the same folder overwriting the original with “Make this a Central File After Save” checked.

I’ve also included 3 additional worksharing-related technical solutions below for reference:

Saving is not allowed while a message box is displayed error in Revit

This link is already loaded using a different workset configuration

When opening a Revit local project file after a crash an unrecoverable error occurs


Source: Synchronize With Central Troubleshooting - The Revit Clinic

0 comments:

  © Blogger template ProBlogger Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP  

[Valid Atom 1.0]