Quick Links - Also see the menu above and more choices on the right side of the blog (too much, but all good stuff)

\/ ...and now BIMbuilder.com Blog Posts... \/

Friday, May 28, 2010

Username Reminder - The Revit Clinic [Tip]

Source: http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2010/05/username-reminder.html


By default when a user or new user logs onto a workstation the Revit username is mapped from the Windows login name. For example if your Windows login is UserA, Revit will populate UserA under Options > Username.
The exception to this default behavior is when a user manually changes the name at any point in Revit; once manually changed it is then stored in the Revit.ini file. This allows the user an ability to override this default behavior.
Each user that subsequently logs onto the workstation would be listed as the overriden username in Revit.
For example you change your username to UserB under Revit options. You log off the workstation. UserC logs onto the workstation. Since the username was manually overridden, Revit leaves the username as UserB.
You can reset the behavior back to default by doing the following:
1. Close Revit.
2. Locate the Revit.ini file on the workstation. For 2011 the default location is C:\Program Files\Autodesk\\Program. For 2010 or earlier it is C:\Program Files\\Program.
3. When the username is overridden the following 2 lines are added to the Revit.ini file:
[Partitions]
Username=X

You can search the file for this; the X above designates the specific username.
4. Remove both lines from the Revit.ini and save. When the next user, and subsequent users log onto the workstation Revit will pull the Windows username.

Username Reminder - The Revit Clinic

0 comments:

  © Blogger template ProBlogger Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP  

[Valid Atom 1.0]