Quick Links - Also see the menu above and more choices on the right side of the blog (too much, but all good stuff)

\/ ...and now BIMbuilder.com Blog Posts... \/

Thursday, August 12, 2010

Linked Files, Shared Coordinates, and the Project Info Workset

Source:http://revitclinic.typepad.com/my_weblog/2010/08/linked-files-shared-coordinates-and-the-project-info-workset.html

When you have linked files with shared coordinates, you may have noticed that sometimes your Project Info workset is checked out by the user working in the linked file. If this happens, do not be alarmed; this is intentional. Shared coordinates are the one case where you can actually modify and save changes to a linked file.

If the user does something to modify the coordinates of the linked file when worksharing is enabled, something has to be checked out to keep track of the modifications and to keep multiple users from changing shared coordinates at the same time and overwriting each other's changes. So the Project Info workset is checked out, and when the user saves any changes to the host file and chooses to Save the new position back to the linked file, the workset is checked back in.



0 comments:

  © Blogger template ProBlogger Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP  

[Valid Atom 1.0]